Financial products in United States

The US has the deepest stock market and many commission-free brokers.

Currency: US Dollar (USD)

Regulator

SEC and FINRA

Investor protection

SIPC covers up to $500,000 per customer, including $250,000 for cash, if a member broker fails.

Tax, in general

Capital gains and dividends are taxed federally; IRAs and 401(k)s give tax advantages.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • Fidelity

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 online US stocks & ETFs; Other trades: Options commission-free (per-contract not stated); Account: $0 account minimum; ACATS out $0; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, bonds, precious metals, crypto, fractional shares
  • Charles Schwab

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 online equity trades; Other trades: Options commission-free (per-contract not stated); Account: $0 minimum; ACATS full out $50; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, bonds, crypto, forex, futures
  • Interactive Brokers (IBKR Lite)

    Discount / pro

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 per trade (Lite); Other trades: Options commission-free (amount not stated); Account: $0 minimum; ACATS out $0; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, bonds, options, futures, forex, crypto, metals; fractional on ~15,000 stocks
  • Robinhood

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 on stocks, ETFs; Other trades: Options $0; Account: $0 minimum; Gold $60/yr; $2/mo paper statements if <$50; ACATS out $100; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options, crypto, futures, ADRs, precious metals (no mutual funds)
  • E*TRADE

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 per trade; Other trades: Options volume discount (amount not stated); Account: $0 minimum; ACATS out $75/$25; $38 reorg fee; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, mutual funds, options, bonds, futures, ADRs, crypto
  • Webull

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    0
    Regulators
    SEC / FINRA / SIPC
    Fees
    Equity: $0 per trade; Other trades: Options commission-free (amount not stated); Account: $0 minimum; ACATS out $75; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options, bonds, crypto, futures, mutual funds (IRA only)
  • Coinbase

    Beginners buying major crypto assets

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    0.00%–0.40% maker, 0.05%–0.60% taker (Advanced Trade)
    Regulation
    FinCEN, SEC, NYDFS (as reported)
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Kraken

    Traders wanting lower maker fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    0.00%–0.25% maker, 0.08%–0.40% taker (Kraken Pro)
    Regulation
    FinCEN, SPDI (as reported); not available in NY or WA
    Security
    Source reports a data breach and extortion incident in April 2026
  • Gemini

    Users who value security

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Named by Finder as its security pick (2026)
  • Fidelity Go

    Low minimum investors

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    $10
    Management fee
    0.35% above $25,000 balance; free up to $25,000
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Automated portfolios
  • Wealthfront

    Automated investing with tax-loss harvesting

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    $500
    Management fee
    0.25%
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • Betterment

    Beginners with no minimum

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    $0 (Premium $100,000)
    Management fee
    Not stated in source
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • Schwab Intelligent Portfolios

    Investors who want no management fee

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    $5,000
    Management fee
    No management fee (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • Vanguard Digital Advisor

    Low-cost long-term investors

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    $100
    Management fee
    About 0.15% a year
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • SoFi Automated Investing

    Users of an existing SoFi account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    Not stated
    Management fee
    No advisory fee (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • Chime Invest

    Chime members

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. investment
    Not stated
    Management fee
    $0 Chime Prime; 0.10% Chime Plus; 0.25% standard
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Accounts
    Investment accounts
  • LendingClub

    High-yield savings

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    Variable (4.21% APY, April 2026 table)
    Min. balance
    No minimum (as reported)
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online
  • EverBank

    High-yield savings

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    Variable (4.00% APY, April 2026 table)
    Min. balance
    No minimum (as reported)
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online
  • Forbright Bank

    High-yield savings

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    Variable (4.15% APY, July 2026)
    Min. balance
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online
  • Axos Bank

    High-yield savings

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    Variable (4.21% APY, May 2026 snapshot)
    Min. balance
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online
  • CIT Bank Platinum Savings

    Savers who meet the balance

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    4.10% APY for 6 months with promo code and $5,000+; then 3.75%
    Min. balance
    $5,000 minimum balance for the regular rate (as reported)
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online
  • Colorado Federal Savings Bank

    Savers wanting no minimum

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Rate type
    Variable (3.80% APY, April 2026 table)
    Min. balance
    $1 to earn interest; no minimum opening deposit (as reported)
    Protection
    Not stated
    Access
    Online; no checking or money market account
  • Chime

    Users who want no monthly fee

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No monthly fee (company claim)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Ally Bank

    Online savings and checking

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Not stated
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Axos Bank digital account

    Online banking

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Not stated
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Chase Sapphire Preferred

    Travel rewards

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    $95 (as reported)
    Rewards
    75,000 bonus points welcome offer; 1x–5x (as reported)
    Foreign fee
    Not stated in source
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Capital One Savor

    Dining and groceries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Not stated; listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    No foreign transaction fee (as reported)
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Chase Freedom Unlimited

    Everyday cash back

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    Not stated
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Discover it Cash Back

    Everyday cash back

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    Not stated
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Citi Double Cash

    Everyday cash back

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    Not stated
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Wells Fargo Active Cash

    Everyday cash back

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    Not stated
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Bank of America Customized Cash Rewards

    Choosing your cash-back category

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Annual fee
    Listed among no-fee cards
    Rewards
    Not stated
    Foreign fee
    Not stated
    Credit needed
    Not stated
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators