Financial products in United Kingdom

UK investors can use tax-free ISAs at most major platforms.

Currency: British Pound (GBP)

Regulator

Financial Conduct Authority (FCA)

Investor protection

FSCS protects eligible investments up to £85,000 per person per firm.

Tax, in general

ISAs and SIPPs shelter gains and dividends from UK tax.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • Trading 212

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    None
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £0 dealing; Account: £0 platform fee; FX: 0.0015
    Investments
    ISA, cash ISA (no SIPP)
  • AJ Bell

    Platform

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £9.95 shares; £1.50 funds / regular investing; Account: 0.25% (share fee capped £42/yr); FX: 0.0075
    Investments
    ISA, SIPP
  • Interactive Investor

    Platform

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £3.99 (Core, UK trades); Account: From £5.99/mo (Core); £14.99/mo (Plus); FX: 0.0075
    Investments
    ISA, SIPP
  • Hargreaves Lansdown

    Platform

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £11.95 shares; £0 funds; Account: 0.45% (capped £45/yr); FX: From 1%
    Investments
    ISA, SIPP
  • Freetrade

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £0; Account: £0 (Basic); £5.99/mo Standard; £11.99/mo Plus; FX: 0.99% / 0.59% / 0.39%
    Investments
    ISA, SIPP
  • InvestEngine

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £0; Account: £0; FX: None
    Investments
    ISA, SIPP
  • IG UK

    Broker

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    FCA
    Fees
    Equity: £0 (UK/US); Account: £0 with 3+ trades/qtr, else £24/qtr; FX: 0.007
    Investments
    ISA; SIPP status conflicting in source; no fractional shares
  • Halifax 2-year fixed (example)

    Buyers and remortgagers in the UK

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Loan types
    Residential mortgages
    Min. down payment
    Not stated
    Process
    Product fee £999; APRC 6.9% (as reported)
    Regulator
    FCA
  • Barclays Business Account

    Small businesses

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Business current accounts
    Best for
    Small businesses
    Multi-currency
    Not stated
    Integrations
    Not stated
  • Lloyds Business Account

    Small businesses

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Business current accounts
    Best for
    Small businesses
    Multi-currency
    FX markup 0.85%–2.6% (as reported)
    Integrations
    Not stated
  • HSBC Business Account

    Small businesses

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Business current accounts
    Best for
    Small businesses
    Multi-currency
    Not stated
    Integrations
    Not stated
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators