Financial products in India

India has many low-cost discount brokers and direct mutual funds.

Currency: Indian Rupee (INR)

Regulator

Securities and Exchange Board of India (SEBI)

Investor protection

Shares are held in your own demat account with NSDL or CDSL, not by the broker.

Tax, in general

Short-term and long-term capital gains on equity are taxed at different rates.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • Zerodha

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery Rs 0; intraday Rs 20 or 0.03% (lower); Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 300; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, MF, direct MF, API (3-in-1 account)
  • Groww

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Rs 20 or 0.1% per order (lower); Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 0; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF
  • Angel One

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Rs 20 or 0.1% per order (lower); Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 240; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF, API
  • Upstox

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery Rs 20/order; intraday Rs 20 or 0.1% (lower); Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 300 (free first year); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF, API
  • Dhan

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery Rs 0; intraday Rs 20 or 0.03% (lower); Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 0 (lifetime); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF, API
  • ICICIdirect

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery 0.29%; intraday 0.029%; Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 700 p.a.; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF
  • HDFC Securities

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery 0.30%; intraday 0.03%; Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 750 (from 2nd year); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF
  • Kotak Neo

    Full service

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery 0.20% (free first 30 days); intraday Rs 10 or 0.05%; Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 600; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF
  • 5paisa

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Rs 20 per executed order; Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 300 (free first year); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF, API
  • Fyers

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    SEBI
    Fees
    Equity: Delivery 0.3% or Rs 20 (lower); intraday 0.03% or Rs 20; Account: Open Rs 0; AMC Rs 0 (lifetime); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Equity, direct MF, API
  • SBI Personal Loan

    Borrowers in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Loan amounts
    Not stated
    Terms
    Rate 10.00%–15.00% p.a. (as reported)
    Fees
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
  • Axis Bank Personal Loan

    Borrowers in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Loan amounts
    Not stated
    Terms
    From 8.75% p.a. (as reported)
    Fees
    Processing fee 2.00%–6.00% for one lender, not named (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
  • SBI General Car Insurance

    Car owners in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Motor insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Claims settled through a wide cashless network (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • HDFC ERGO Car Insurance

    Car owners in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Motor insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Named in top-rated lists (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • ICICI Lombard Car Insurance

    Car owners in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Motor insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Named in top-rated lists (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • Star Health Insurance

    Health insurance buyers in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Health insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Among the top three by health business, FY26 (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • New India Assurance

    Health insurance buyers in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Health and general insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Among the top three by health business, FY26 (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • Care Health Insurance

    Health insurance buyers in India

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Types
    Health insurance
    How to buy
    Online and agent
    Claims
    Among the top three by health business, FY26 (as reported)
    Regulator
    IRDAI
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators