Financial products in Germany

Germany is home to several low-cost neobrokers.

Currency: Euro (EUR)

Regulator

BaFin

Investor protection

EU rules require investor compensation of at least €20,000 if a broker fails.

Tax, in general

A flat withholding tax applies to gains, with a yearly tax-free allowance.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • Trade Republic

    Neo broker

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €1
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance up to €100,000 (DE/FR)
    Fees
    Equity: €1.00 per €500 order; Other trades: ETF savings plan €0; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds, bonds, derivatives, crypto; 2,500 stock savings plans
  • Scalable Capital

    Neo broker

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €1
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance up to €500,000 (DE/FR)
    Fees
    Equity: €0.99 per €500 order; Other trades: ETF savings plan €0; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds, bonds, derivatives, crypto; 4,500 stock savings plans
  • ING

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €1
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance €100,000 (DE)
    Fees
    Equity: €6.15 per €500 (€4.90 + 0.25%); Other trades: ETF savings plan €0; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds; 550 stock savings plans
  • flatex

    Online bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €25
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance €100,000 (DE)
    Fees
    Equity: €5.90 per €500; Other trades: ETF savings plan €0; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds, bonds, derivatives; 1,000 stock savings plans
  • comdirect bank

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €1
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance €100,000 (DE)
    Fees
    Equity: €9.90 per €500 (€4.90 + 0.25%); Other trades: ETF savings plan 1.50%; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds; 1,700 stock savings plans
  • comdirect Pure

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €1
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance €100,000 (DE)
    Fees
    Equity: €1.00 per €500; Other trades: ETF savings plan €0; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds; 1,700 stock savings plans
  • DKB

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Savings plan from €25
    Regulators
    Deposit insurance €100,000 (DE)
    Fees
    Equity: €10 (range €10-€30) per €500; Other trades: ETF savings plan €1.50; Account: €0 custody; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ETFs, stocks, funds; 40 stock savings plans
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators