Financial products in Canada

Canadians often choose brokers that support TFSA and RRSP accounts.

Currency: Canadian Dollar (CAD)

Regulator

Canadian Investment Regulatory Organization (CIRO)

Investor protection

CIPF covers eligible accounts up to C$1 million if a member firm fails.

Tax, in general

TFSAs and RRSPs offer tax-free or tax-deferred growth.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • Questrade

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    1000
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $0 stocks & ETFs; Other trades: Options $0.99/contract; Account: No annual fees listed; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options; limited fractional shares
  • TD Direct Investing

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: Commissions among highest (amount not stated); Account: Not listed; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    TD Easy Trade: up to 100 commission-free trades/yr (mobile)
  • BMO InvestorLine

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    None
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 0; Other trades: ETFs $0; options $0.90/contract; Account: $0 (registered & non-registered); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options; no fractional shares
  • CIBC Investor's Edge

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $10,000 to avoid fee
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $6.95 ($4.95 if >150 trades/qtr); Other trades: Options $6.95 + $1.25/contract; Account: $100 (waived with $10,000 across accounts); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options
  • National Bank Direct Brokerage

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $20,000 to avoid fee
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 0; Other trades: ETFs $0; options $1.25/contract (min $6.25); Account: $100 (waived with $20,000 across accounts); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options
  • Qtrade Direct Investing

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $25,000 to avoid fee
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 0; Other trades: Options $0.75/contract; Account: $100 (waived with $25,000 across accounts); FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, ETFs, options, multi-leg
  • Interactive Brokers

    Discount / pro

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    None
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $0.01/share (min $1, max 0.5%); Other trades: Options $1.25/contract (min $1.50); Account: $10/mo inactivity, offset by commissions; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Stocks, options, fractional shares
  • Wealthsimple Trade / RBC Direct Investing

    Discount / bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: Not in source; Account: Not in source; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Not stated
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators