Financial products in Australia

Australian investors can buy ASX and US shares through local apps.

Currency: Australian Dollar (AUD)

Regulator

Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC)

Investor protection

CHESS-sponsored ASX shares are registered in your name.

Tax, in general

Assets held over 12 months may get a capital gains discount.

A general summary, not tax advice. Tax rules and limits change each tax year, and the year this note reflects is not recorded yet.

Verified products

  • CommSec

    Bank

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $19.95 ASX shares & ETFs; Other trades: US shares offered (fee not stated); Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX shares, ETFs, US shares; CHESS sponsored
  • CommSec Pocket

    Bank app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    50
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $2 (up to $1k), ETFs only; Other trades: No US shares; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    10 curated ETFs; CHESS
  • SelfWealth

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 9.5; Other trades: US shares USD $9.50; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX shares, ETFs, US shares; CHESS
  • Superhero

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    100
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: ETFs $2.00; shares $5.00; Other trades: US trades $0; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX ETFs/shares, US shares; CHESS; ETF auto-invest
  • Pearler

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 6.5; Other trades: US shares USD $6.50; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX & US securities; CHESS; auto-invest (all)
  • CMC Invest

    Discount

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: $0 first trade each month; Other trades: Later fees not stated; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX & US shares; CHESS
  • Stake

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 3; Other trades: US trades $0; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX & US shares; custodian (no CHESS)
  • Moomoo

    Discount app

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: ~$0; Other trades: US ~$0; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    ASX & US shares; custodian (no CHESS)
  • IG

    Broker

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 8; Other trades: US $0; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    International markets; no CHESS
  • Saxo

    Broker

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    Not stated
    Regulators
    Not stated
    Fees
    Equity: 0.12% (min $10); Other trades: US fee not stated; Account: Not stated; FX: Not stated
    Investments
    Multi-asset, 70+ exchanges; no CHESS
  • Crypto.com

    Users wanting a wide product range

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Crypto-to-crypto trading reported fee-free (Finder)
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • OKX

    Users looking for low trading fees

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Named by Finder for low fees (2026); figures not stated
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • Binance

    Users with small starting deposits

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Coins
    Major crypto assets
    Trading fees
    Not stated in source
    Regulation
    Not stated in source
    Security
    Not stated in source
  • XM

    Beginners who want a low starting deposit

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $5 (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Moneta Markets

    Traders on a Direct STP account

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Min. deposit
    $50 on its Direct STP account (as reported)
    Regulators
    Not stated in source
    Spreads and fees
    Not stated in source
    Platforms
    Not stated in source
  • Wise

    Bank-to-bank international transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Variable fee about 0.35%–2.85% (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Mid-market rate, no added margin (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Over 40 currencies (not stated)
  • Remitly

    Cash pickup and mobile-wallet delivery

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    Flat fee varies by destination; $1.99 to Mexico bank deposit (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Margin 0.5%–3.0% above mid-market (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • WorldRemit

    Transfers to many countries

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    $1–$5 flat (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    0.5%–2% bank transfer; up to 4% cash pickup (as reported)
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Many countries (not stated)
  • OFX

    Large transfers

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Transfer fee
    No upfront transfer fee (as reported)
    Exchange rate
    Not stated
    Speed
    Not stated
    Coverage
    Not stated
  • Revolut

    Travellers and currency exchange

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    Plan-based maintenance fees (as reported)
    Card
    Not stated
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated
  • Wise account

    Cross-border payments

    Third-party figures, not checked with the provider

    Monthly fee
    No maintenance fee (as reported)
    Card
    Cross-border transfers from 0.41% (as reported)
    Spending abroad
    Not stated
    Protection
    Not stated

Browse by category

Calculators